Over the past two days, I have laboriously copied all entries and their accompanying comments from my old blog, into a document that will serve as my memories of a certain small town that I thought I would spend the rest of my life in.

I did this because I have just deleted that blog. As I am no longer living in that town, why keep it?

Ever since I moved to The Woods, I knew that I would delete the old blog eventually, but now that I’ve done it I feel a bit sad.

It has been nostalgic (and very illuminating!) to read over those entries as well as my readers’ comments, especially the early ones when I waxed so eloquently about the place. I was so enthusiastic, singing its praises. And people responded so supportively.

Then as we got to know the town’s inner workings and people better below the surface, we discovered that it was less-than-idyllic — and in fact, was not a good fit for us.

I can only hope that the same flip-flop doesn’t happen HERE. I don’t think it will, because the connections with this land, and with the people who own it, with all my family, friends and colleagues who live nearby, and the more down-to-earth townspeople we are meeting — are much stronger than in our previous location.

In retrospect, (hindsight is so cheap!) I shouldn’t have freaked out and deleted “controversial” blog entries when a few local residents complained about some negative aspects of town that I brought up. Most of you blog readers encouraged me to continue writing, without censorship.

Well, I wimped out. I was pragmatic in that I realized that we would be leaving anyway, so what was the point of being a bad-ass?

It seems that I have a bit more processing to do, concerning this recent major change in my life. When I think about it, it IS pretty significant, and needs acknowledgement. Then I will be able to let go and move on more effectively.

When I started this new blog, a few faithful readers have followed me here, for which I am grateful.

I have been bad about posting lately, and even worse about visiting other blogs to comment, so it is no wonder that “Into the Woods” gets less traffic than my old blog.

I can only hope to become more involved again, and not be such a stranger to you all.